This is the "Topic Overviews" page of the "Biology | Pre-med" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology | Pre-med  

Last Updated: Jan 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mhu.edu/bio_med Print Guide RSS Updates

Topic Overviews Print Page
  Search: 
 

SCIENCE REFERENCE BOOKS

MULTIDISCIPLINARY REFERENCE BOOK DATABASES

  • GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
    Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Includes Animal Sciences, Biology, Developmental Biology, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Genetics, Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution, Infectious Diseases, and Plant Sciences.
  • CREDO REFERENCE
    An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.

REFERENCE WEBSITES

  • CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION
    Provides information on many health and safety topics for the layperson, medical professionals and researchers. From "the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people" in the U.S. Browse or search.
  • MEDLINEPLUS
    Full-text information on hundreds of medical issues. Links to: dictionaries, encyclopedias, and databases; directories of professionals, hospitals, and organizations; and libraries for health consumers, organized by state. (National Library of Medicine)
  • NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH
    "NIH's mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce the burdens of illness and disability."
  • NATURESERVE
    Scientific information about 50,000 rare and endangered plants and animals in the United States and Canada. Information provided includes common and scientific name, taxonomic hierarchy, distribution within the US and Canada with distribution maps, conservation status, life history and habitat information, and significant references. Searchable by any one or combination of several elements. (Assoc. of Biodiversity Information)
  • NATURAL MEDICINE
    Evidence-based reviews on dietary supplements and complementary and alternative medicine therapies including herbs, supplements, vitamins, diets, nutrition, exercise, and complementary practices and modalities.
  • U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY
    Information about programs and activities in each of the states, current projects, publications, and research. Fact sheets, information of interest to children. Provides a site search engine.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip