Skip to Main Content 
CHILDREN AND FAMILIES
ACTION FOR CHILDREN IN NORTH CAROLINA
County data, resources, legislation, public information. Provides access to the NC Child Health Report Card, an annual evaluation of key indicators of physical well-being for children in NC to age 18. Searchable.
ADMINISTRATION FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIES; PROGRAMS AND SERVICES
Website for programs and services; summarizes units which assist states and territories in providing for community development, childcare and protective agencies. (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
CHILD WELFARE INFORMATION GATEWAY
Information and resources to help protect children and strengthen families. Access to online publications, conference calendar, fact sheets, databases, and directories. Formerly National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information and National Adoption Information Clearinghouse. (U.S. Dept. of Heath and Human Services)
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHILDREN AND CHILDHOOD
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)
This 3-vol. set presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.
FAMILY IN SOCIETY
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Provides primary source documents focused family in society in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.
INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIA OF MARRIAGE AND FAMILY
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
KIDS COUNT
National and state data sources and statistics on the physical, social, economic and educational well-being of children, from 1995 to the present. (Anne E. Casey Foundation)
NORTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Provides information on health, housing, child protection, mental health, vocational rehabilitation, Medicaid, social services and disability services.
OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - CHILDHOOD STUDIES This link opens in a new window
The scholarly study of children and young people is a relatively new multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed. From psychology to labor rights, from ethics to education, Oxford Bibliographies in Childhood Studies will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.
