Last Updated: Aug 14, 2013
Digital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
- CREDO REFERENCE
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.
- GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats.
- LITERARY REFERENCE CENTER PLUS
Full text plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies (including in-depth bios), author interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, short stories and classic texts. (EBSCO)
- LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis to over 90,000 writers from all periods and literary disciplines. (GaleNet)
- MISSISSIPPI WRITER'S PAGE: THE INTERNET GUIDE TO MISSISSIPPI WRITERS
Illustrations, bibliography and relevant links for 100+ writers, with plans to add another 200+. Also has book news, literary landmarks, timeline, journals, publisher information. African American authors and popular culture. Searchable. (Univ. of Mississippi)
- NOVELIST PLUS
A readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested. Over 96,000 book titles are in the database and range from easy readers to adult, with over 36,000 full text reviews. (EbscoHost via NCLive)
- OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY ONLINE
Authoritative historical record of the English Language providing definitions as well as quotations that show the evolution of meaning and usage from the first known use to the present. Complete text of the 20 volume 2nd edition.
- OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE
Search the full text of Oxford University Press Literature.
Titles include: The Oxford Companions to African Literature, American Literature, Australian Literature, Canadian Literature, Classical Literature, English Literature, Irish Literature, New Zealand Literature, Shakespeare and Twentieth Century Poetry in English.
- POINTS OF VIEW
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides
more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
- READ ON WNC
News, information, and discussion on Western North Carolina books and heritage.