This is the "Collection Overview" page of the "James H. Montgomery Music Collection, 1911-2014" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

James H. Montgomery Music Collection, 1911-2014  

The James H. Montgomery Music Collection contains 1,023 LPs and 1,368 CDs. The collection focuses on old-time bluegrass, Southern folk, gospel, and country music. It features Mr. Montgomery's annotations and ranking system.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.mhu.edu/james_montgomery Print Guide RSS Updates

Collection Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

COLLECTION OVERVIEW

REPOSITORY:

Southern Appalachian Archives, Liston B. Ramsey Center for Regional Studies, Mars Hill University

COLLECTION TITLE:

James H. Montgomery Music Collection, 1911-2014

COLLECTION NUMBER:

00007

CREATOR:

James H. Montgomery

LANGUAGE OF MATERIAL:

Materials mostly in English with a few in French, German, and Spanish

EXTENT:

1,023 long-playing vinyl records and 1,368 compact discs

LOCATION:

These materials are located in the Southern Appalachian Archives in Renfro Library, Mars Hill University.  For assistance, please call (828) 689-1581 or e-mail archives@mhu.edu.

ABSTRACT:

James Houston Montgomery (1930 - 2014) of Austin, Texas, fell in love with bluegrass music at the age of nine.  While healing from polio, he discovered bluegrass music on the radio, and it became a life-long obsession.  While Montgomery worked as a librarian at Vanderbilt University, the University of California--Irvine, the University of Georgia, Rutgers University, the University of Florida, and the University of Houston, he collected over 2,000 bluegrass and country LPs and CDs and kept meticulous notes on each album and song.  Though he was never able to visit Mars Hill University, he knew of Bascom Lamar Lunsford's connection with the school and donated $500,000 to Mars Hill for a Regional Studies scholarship in Lunsford's honor.  He also donated his personal LP and CD collection to the school after his passing in late 2014.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip