This is the "Collection Overview" page of the "Liston B. Ramsey Collection, 1976-2000" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Liston B. Ramsey Collection, 1976-2000  

Last Updated: May 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.mhu.edu/liston_ramsey Print Guide RSS Updates

Collection Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

COLLECTION OVERVIEW

REPOSITORY:

Southern Appalachian Archives, Liston B. Ramsey Center for Regional Studies, Mars Hill University

COLLECTION TITLE:

Liston B. Ramsey Collection, 1976-2000

COLLECTION NUMBER:

00006

CREATOR:

Liston B. Ramsey

LANGUAGE OF MATERIAL:

Material in English

EXTENT:

 8.3 Linear Feet

LOCATION:

These materials are located in the Southern Appalachian Archives in Renfro Library, Mars Hill University. For assistance, please call (828) 689-1581 or e-mail archives@mhu.edu.

ABSTRACT:

Liston Bryan Ramsey (February 26, 1919-September 2, 2001) entered public service after being elected to the Marshall Board of Alderman where he served from 1948 to 1960. Ramsey was first elected to the North Carolina House of Representatives in 1960 and would go on to serve nineteen consecutive terms and become one of the legislature's most respected members. In 1981, Ramsey was elected as Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives, and he served four terms in this position before his ouster in 1988. During his tenure as Speaker, Ramsey was known for securing state funds for his home region of western North Carolina, a region that had often been overlooked by the state’s government. Due to his declining health, Ramsey retired from Raleigh in 1999 and returned home to his beloved Madison County. Today, the Liston B. Ramsey Center for Regional Studies on the campus of Mars Hill University is one of many facilities in western North Carolina to bear Ramsey’s name.

 

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip