Last Updated: Mar 20, 2016
- GROVE (OXFORD) MUSIC ONLINE
Enhanced, online version of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, published in 2001. Full-text, searchable resource for scholarly articles on all aspects of music and musicians. Links to images, digital sound, and related sites. International in scope, covering both classical and popular music. Also includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Updated quarterly. (Oxford University Pr.)
- NAXOS WORKS
Naxos Works provides information about classical musical works such as instrumentation, playing time, year of composition, composer biographies, and music notes. The search capabilities allow users to search by playing time,
year of composition, country of birth of the composer, featured instrument and many other criteria, either singly or combined.
- ALL-MUSIC GUIDE
Provides a framework for the exploration of all genres and sub-genres of popular music in the 20th century, as well as classical music from medieval to contemporary. Includes hundreds of essays, thorough discographies, biographical and critical information, as well as bibliographies. The site is searchable and provides extensive links to audio and video files. Free, but requires registration to access some features.
- GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Includes Arts and Humanities Through The Eras and Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians.
- OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE
Complete contents of more than 200 titles published by Oxford University Press, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books in 25 subject areas. Titles include: Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Grove Book of Opera Singers, Grove Book of Operas, and Oxford Companion to Music.
- CREDO REFERENCE
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.
Worldwide database of musicians' discographies. Search for an artist or band to view a comprehensive listing of their musical recordings. Each recording is further divided into all its individual editions: across different years, in different countries, by different record labels, with different song/track listings. Data in Discogs is user-generated but strictly moderated for accuracy. Free to search, no user account required.
- OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - MUSIC
Oxford Bibliographies in Music takes a pragmatic approach, based on the past and emerging literature about music. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.
- CLASSICAL COMPOSERS PRONUNCIATION GUIDE
A helpful guide to pronouncing (and spelling) some of the more challenging names of classical composers. Created by Chris Wendl (University College London) for classical radio announcers, specifically North American English speakers.
- PRONOUNCING DICTIONARY OF MUSIC AND MUSICIANS
A comprehensive guide to pronouncing and spelling the names of classical composers and the names of many of their works. Divided into 26 lengthy PDFs; choose a letter of the alphabet to see each one. Created by WOI Radio (Iowa State University).