- APPALACHIAN REGIONAL COMMISSION
The official site of the Appalachian Regional Commission. Provides local, state and federal level; regional reports, research, and programs, as well as, contact information.
- APPALACHIAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION
Provides an on-line access to syllabi, links to research centers, libraries, federal and state resources, funding and teaching resources.
- ARCHIVES OF APPALACHIA
Provides access to descriptions of and finding aids for collections in the archives which houses nearly 18 million manuscripts, 75,000 sound recordings, and 250,000 still and moving images on topics related to Appalchia. (East Tennessee State University)
Digital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
- DIGITAL LIBRARY OF APPALACHIA
Resources related to the culture, environment, history and geography of the southern and central Appalachian region. Full text and media resources from the collections of the 33 member institutions of the ACA.(Central Library, Appalachia College Association)
- DIGITAL NC
Original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state of North Carolina.
- DOCUMENTING THE AMERICAN SOUTH
Primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. Includes collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (UNC Chapel Hill University Library)
- INSTITUTE FOR SOUTHERN STUDIES
A grassroots movement to support awareness of issues and news taking place in Southern states.
- LUNSFORD SCRAPBOOK
Bascom Lamar Lunsford was a musician and folklorist who dedicated his life to collecting and promoting the music of the Southern Appalachians. Through his work he became known as "Minstrel of the Appalachians." This digitized version of his scrapbook is a collaborative project with the Liston B. Ramsey Center and Digital NC. The materials in this collection are made available for use in research, teaching, and private study.
- NORTH CAROLINA LITERARY MAP
The mission of the North Carolina Literary Map is to highlight the literary heritage of the state by connecting the lives and creative work of authors to real (and imaginary) geographic locations. Through the development of a searchable and browseable data-driven online map, users are able to access a database, learning tools, and cultural resources, to deepen their understanding of specific authors as well as the cultural space that shaped these literary works.
- NORTH CAROLINA MAPS
Online collections of historic maps featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections: the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center. Contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and covering each county.
- OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE
Complete contents of more than 200 titles published by Oxford University Press, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books in 25 subject areas. Facts, figures, definitions, translations as well as over 50,000 in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the Oxford Companions series.
- READ ON WNC
News, information, and discussion on Western North Carolina books and heritage.
- WCU DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
Western Carolina University offers access to rich primary sources through their digital archives. Collections include materials relating to the Cherokee, Appalachia, the Craft Revival, and the Civil War.