- A TO Z MAPS
4,000+ world, continent, country, and state maps. Thematic maps include: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, and climate maps.
- ACCESS SCIENCE
9,000+ encyclopedia articles and research updates, plus videos, animations, charts, and images, as well as biographies of scientists.
Digital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
- BIOGRAPHY AND GENEALOGY MASTER INDEX
Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.
- BOOKS IN PRINT WITH REVIEWS
Database of in print, out of print and forthcoming books, audio books and videos. Includes full-text reviews for many titles. (Bowker)
- CHICAGO MANUAL OF STYLE ONLINE
Searchable online access to the 16th (2010) edition. Also includes Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, and Chicago
Style Q and A (editors' answers to questions submitted by readers, updated monthly).
- CHRONICLE OF HIGHER EDUCATION
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Geographical, political, economic, historical, cultural and business information on 191 nations.
- CQ ELECTRONIC LIBRARY
Search across 5 collections: CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ Congress Collection, CQ Public Affairs Collection, and CQ Supreme Court Collection. (CQ Press)
- CREDO REFERENCE
An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.
- EARLY AMERICAN IMPRINTS SERIES I: EVANS, 1639-1800
Digital editions of "virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over 160 year period." Subjects include government, history, economics and trade, literature, philosophy, religion, theology, science, society. (Readex)
- ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LIFE SCIENCES
Authoritative encyclopedia on the biological sciences. With over 3,000 signed entries, has the complete text of the 20 volume 2001 print edition. Illustrations, bibliographic references, cross-references, glossary. Updated monthly. (Nature Publishing)
- FAST FACTS
- FILMS ON DEMAND
Films On Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.
- GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY
Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats.
- GLOBAL ROAD WARRIOR
Country-by-country information on 175 nations and territories featuring editorial content, color photos and 1,575 maps, all presented in a consistent 92-category framework for each country.
- GROVE (OXFORD) ART ONLINE
Includes the full text of the 34 volume Dictionary of Art (Grove) updated online three times a year, as well as, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- GROVE (OXFORD) MUSIC ONLINE
Enhanced, online version of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition, published in 2001. Full-text, searchable resource for scholarly articles on all aspects of music and musicians. Links to images, digital sound, and related sites. International in scope, covering both classical and popular music. Also includes the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music. Updated quarterly. (Oxford University Pr.)
Kanopy provides libraries access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.
- LEARNING EXPRESS LIBRARY
Practice the PRAXIS test online. Perform a search in the upper left-hand corner for "Praxis", and a list of various practice tests should appear. You will need to create an account within Learning Express Library to access the materials.
- LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER
Provides biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis to over 90,000 writers from all periods and literary disciplines. (GaleNet)
- NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC ARCHIVE
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to the mid-1990s, National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994, includes every page and every photograph, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface.
- NAXOS MUSIC LIBRARY
Provides streaming audio of 85,000 tracks of classical, jazz, folk and world music, medieval to contemporary. Includes biographies, discographies and cover art
- NAXOS WORKS
Naxos Works provides information about classical musical works such as instrumentation, playing time, year of composition, composer biographies, and music notes. The search capabilities allow users to search by playing time,
year of composition, country of birth of the composer, featured instrument and many other criteria, either singly or combined.
- NC LIVE
Resources provided by the North Carolina State Library.
- NC LIVE VIDEO COLLECTION
These videos are available using video stream and require Adobe Flash Player Version 9.0 or higher.
- NOVELIST PLUS
A readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested. Over 96,000 book titles are in the database and range from easy readers to adult, with over 36,000 full text reviews. (EbscoHost via NCLive)
- ONE CLICK AUDIO
The world's largest independent publisher and distributor of unabridged audiobooks on cassettes, CDs, and
In-depth business information on companies in North America, United Kingdom, Europe, Asia-Pacific as well as emerging markets, with the ability to search for companies by name, by geography or across industries.
- OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides.
- OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY ONLINE
Authoritative historical record of the English Language providing definitions as well as quotations that show the evolution of meaning and usage from the first known use to the present. Complete text of the 20 volume 2nd edition.
- OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE
Complete contents of more than 200 titles published by Oxford University Press, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books in 25 subject areas. Facts, figures, definitions, translations as well as over 50,000 in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the Oxford Companions series.
- POINTS OF VIEW
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides
more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
- POLLING THE NATIONS
Over 14,000 national, state, and local surveys conducted since 1986 by more than 700 polling organizations in the United States and more than 100 other countries.
Language learning for 80 languages and ESL for 50 non-English languages, including audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis. Users must create a personal account to use this resource.
- PROQUEST CENTRAL
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
- RESOURCES FOR COLLEGE LIBRARIES
Core list of resources recommended for college libraries (over 65,000 titles in 61curriculum-specific subjects) selected by more than 300 subject specialists and bibliographers. (Bowker)
- REFERENCE USA
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. Find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and more.
- SIMPLY MAP
Web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. (Geographic Research via NCLive)
- STATESMAN'S YEARBOOK ONLINE
Up-to-date information on global affairs with comprehensive coverage of government and politics, geography, history, economics, social policy and culture for 192 countries.
Statista.com is the first statistics portal in the world to integrate over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide. (FirstSearch via NCLive)