- A TO Z MAPS
4,000+ world, continent, country, and state maps. Thematic maps include: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, and climate maps.
- ABC-CLIO E-BOOK COLLECTION
Access to the full text of over 3,400 electronic books covering a wide range of subject areas.
- ABI/INFORM COMPLETE
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
- ACADEMIC ONE FILE
Provides indexing and abstracts for articles in over 10,000 publications, both scholarly and popular. Full text or page images of articles are available from over 5,300 of these publications. Coverage varies by title with some titles going back to the early 1980’s. (Gale)
- ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE
Provides indexing and abstracts for articles in over 8,200 publications, both scholarly and popular, in a broad range of subject areas. Full text or page image of articles are available from over 4,700 of these publications. Coverage varies by title with some titles available back to the mid 1970’s. (EBSCOHost via NCLive)
- ACCOUNTING AND TAX
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues.
- ACLS HUMANITIES E-BOOK COLLECTION
E-book collection with an emphasis on history, literature, the arts, political science, and sociology.
- ACRONYM FINDER
The world's largest and most accurate human-edited dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations and initialisms. Includes information technology, business and finance, organizations, schools, slang and pop culture, military and government, science and medicine.
- ACTION FOR CHILDREN IN NORTH CAROLINA
County data, resources, legislation, public information. Provides access to the NC Child Health Report Card, an annual evaluation of key indicators of physical well-being for children in NC to age 18. Searchable.
A collection of adherent and religious geography statistics. Search by religion or location.
- ADMINISTRATION FOR CHILDREN AND FAMILIES; PROGRAMS AND SERVICES
Website for programs and services; summarizes units which assist states and territories in providing for community development, childcare and protective agencies. (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
- ADMINISTRATION ON AGING
Repository of information on government agencies, programs and initiatives dedicated to aging Americans. (US Dept. of Health and Human Services)
- AFRICAN AMERICAN MOSAIC
Includes letters, newspaper accounts, documents, photographs, and slave narratives. (Library of Congress)
- AFRICAN-AMERICAN POETRY
Full text of 3,000 poems written in the late 18th and 19th centuries. (Chadwyck-Healey via NCLive)
- AFRICANS IN AMERICA
America's journey through slavery, spanning from 1450 through 1865. Includes narrative, images, primary documents, biographies, and commentary. In 4 parts, with teacher's guides.(PBS)
- AICPA ONLINE
Includes news, organizational information, links to sites, career opportunities, materials for educators. (American Institute of Certified Public Accountants)
News and columns from the American Journalism Review with links to other news sources. (American Journalism Review)
- ALL-MOVIE GUIDE
Comprehensive, from silent to forthcoming, search by film, person or keyword. Critical and reference information on films and performers, primarily American. Plot summaries, complete credits and awards. 20,000+ biographies.
- ALL-MUSIC GUIDE
Provides a framework for the exploration of all genres and sub-genres of popular music in the 20th century, as well as classical music from medieval to contemporary. Includes hundreds of essays, thorough discographies, biographical and critical information, as well as bibliographies. The site is searchable and provides extensive links to audio and video files. Free, but requires registration to access some features.
- ALMANAC OF HIGHER EDUCATION
An annual compilation of facts and figures about American higher education, archived back to 1995. (Chronicle of Higher Education)
- ALSC AWARDS AND CHILDREN'S NOTABLES
Information about the various children's literature awards and award winners from the section of the American Library Association that issues the Caldecott and Newbery Awards. Also provides information about children's notables in all types of media. (Association for Library Service to Children)
- AMERICA'S BEST GRADUATE SCHOOLS
Information on America's best graduate schools, ranked by US News and World Report, Inc.
- AMERICA'S CAREER INFONET
Information on 460 occupations with salary data. Includes links to market outlook and job listings by profession and state. (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
- AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS
- AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ORTHOPADEIC SURGEONS
- AMERICAN ALLIANCE FOR HEALTH, PHYSICAL EDUCATION, RECREATION AND DANCE
- AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY
- AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY
The American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. This index allows for in-depth searching and article requests may be submitted through inter-library loan.
- AMERICAN CHORAL DIRECTORS ASSOCIATION
- AMERICAN CIVIL WAR: LETTERS AND DIARIES
A searchable collection of over 100,000 pages of diaries and correspondence written in the period around the American Civil War. (Alexander Street Press)
- AMERICAN COLLEGE OF SPORTS MEDICINE
- AMERICAN DECADES
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- AMERICAN DIABETES ASSOCIATION
- AMERICAN ECONOMIC ASSOCIATION
Information for economists -- provided by the American Economic Association. AEAweb includes the web pages for association and publication information; contents, abstracts, datafiles, and full-text links to AEA journals, Resources for Economists on the Internet (RFE), and job openings.
- AMERICAN FACTFINDER
Industry and business facts, community profiles, links to economic census reports. Search by industry or geography. Can produce customized reports. (US Census Bureau)
- AMERICAN HEART ASSOCIATION
- AMERICAN HISTORY THROUGH LITERATURE 1820-1870
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- AMERICAN HISTORY THROUGH LITERATURE 1870-1920
(Gale Virtual Reference Library)
- AMERICAN LIFE HISTORIES
Manuscripts from the Federal Writers’ Project, 1936-1940. 2,900 previously unpublished WPA interviews. (Library of Congress)
- AMERICAN LOCAL HISTORY NETWORK: NORTH CAROLINA
Provides links to a variety of websites organized by county and by topic.
- AMERICAN LUNG ASSOCIATION
- AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY
Information includes employment opportunities, conferences and meetings, and publications. Research tools include MathSciNet(see link on this page), Math on the Web, Reference Tools. Searchable.
- AMERICAN MEMORY PROJECT
Written records, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- AMERICAN MOVIE CLASSICS
"Great movies. And the stories behind them." A searchable site, includes a database of over 2,000 classic American films with links to related resources.
- AMERICAN OPTOMETRIC ASSOCIATION
- AMERICAN POETRY
Full text of 40,000 poems by 200 American poets, Colonial period to the early 20th century. (Chadwick-Healey via NCLive)
- AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION
Site of the major professional association for psychologists in the US. Information for professionals, students and the public. Searchable.
- AMERICAN PSYCHOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION: DIVISION ON EXERCISE AND SPORT PSYCHOLOGY
- AMERICAN RELIGION DATA ARCHIVE
Intends to "preserve quantitative data on American religion". Includes data about churches, membership, congregations and denominations, as well as an annotated collection of related links. Searchable. (Dept. of Sociology, Penn. State University)
- AMERICAN RHETORIC: THE POWER OF ORATORY IN THE UNITED STATES
Provides online access to over 5,000 speeches, either through text or audio files. (Michael Eidenmuller)
- AMERICAN SLAVERY: A COMPOSITE AUTOBIOGRAPHY
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 WPA interviews with ex-slaves. (Greenwood via NCLive)
- AMERICAN SOCIOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION
- AMERICAN WOMEN
"A gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the United States." (Library of Congress)
- AMERICAN WOMEN'S HISTORY: DIGITAL COLLECTIONS OF PRIMARY SOURCES
Links to digitized collections, arranged into more than 70 subject areas, as well as links to 50 state history collections. Subjects include American Indians, civil rights, clothing, education, film, immigrant women, music, politics, religion, scientists, sports and writers. (Ken Middleton, Middle Tennessee State University Library
- ANNUAL REPORTS
AnnualReports.com is an up-to-date listing of Annual Reports online. Visitors are able to look for a company through 7 search criteria: alphabetically, by company name, by ticker symbol, by sector, by industry, by exchange, and by index. Once a company is found, it can be viewed in either HTML or PDF format and if available order a hardcopy.
- ANNUAL REVIEWS
Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Each year, Annual Reviews critically reviews the most significant primary research literature to guide you to the principal contributions of the field and help you keep up to date in your area of research.
- APA GUIDELINES
- APPALACHIAN REGIONAL COMMISSION
The official site of the Appalachian Regional Commission. Provides local, state and federal level; regional reports, research, and programs, as well as, contact information.
- APPALACHIAN STUDIES ASSOCIATION
Provides an on-line access to syllabi, links to research centers, libraries, federal and state resources, funding and teaching resources.
- APPLIED AND INTERACTIVE THEATRE GUIDE
"A resource for those who use theater techniques for more than arts and entertainment purposes, and for those whose theater styles incorporate other than traditional presentation styles." Includes information on print and online resources, lists of pertinent organizations. Searchable, annotated links. Areas include community issues, drama therapy, interactive improv, psychodrama, sociodrama, theatre of the oppressed, training and development. (Toni Sant)
Resources for readers and teachers of Appalachian literature for children and young adults. Articles, author resources, bibliographies, original stories and poems, lesson plans and links to Internet resources and study guides.(Tina L. Hanlon, Ferrum College and Judy A Teaford, Mountain State University)
Provides information on archival collections worldwide. Discover historical records, personal papers, and family histories. Provides contact information to arrange a visit or to order copies.
- ARCHIVES OF APPALACHIA
Provides access to descriptions of and finding aids for collections in the archives which houses nearly 18 million manuscripts, 75,000 sound recordings, and 250,000 still and moving images on topics related to Appalchia. (East Tennessee State University)
- ART AND ARCHITECTURE COMPLETE
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
- ART HISTORY RESOURCES ON THE WEB
Links to sites on all periods, styles, regions. Encyclopedic. (Christopher Witcombe, Sweet Briar College)
- ART PROJECT POWERED BY GOOGLE
Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
- ARTCYCLOPEDIA: THE FINE ARTS SEARCH ENGINE
Searchable index to web sites that contain images or information relating to 5,000+ artists; mostly US or Western European. (John Malyon)
Free standards based teaching materials, professional development resources and student materials in dance, music, theater and the visual arts. Includes the National Standards for Arts Education. (Kennedy Center)
Digital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
- ASA QUICK STYLE GUIDE
This document has been provided to assist students studying Sociology in properly citing and referencing their
papers and essays.
- ASHEVILLE AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
Information on Asheville demographics, attractions, events, businesses and economic climate.
- ASHEVILLE CITIZEN TIMES
Daily local, regional, state, and national news.
- ASHEVILLE CITIZEN TIMES DIGITAL MICROFILM
The Asheville Citizen Times is remotely hosted for simultaneous online viewing and retrieval. (2010-current)
News articles and special reports on arts and culture, business and economics, policy and government, and society and history. (The Asia Society)
- ASSOCIATION FOR TECHNOLOGY IN MUSIC INSTRUCTION
- ASSOCIATION OF BACCALAUREATE PROGRAM DIRECTORS
- ATLA DATABASE WITH ATLA SERIALS
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion from major religion and theology journals, with full text often provided for articles and book reviews. (EBSCOhost)
- AVALON PROJECT
Searchable, digitized collection of primary documents in law, history, and diplomacy, from the Code of Hammurabi to the Wye River Memorandums. (Yale Univ.)