Resources By Department: Education: Topic Overviews

Topic Overviews

CREDO REFERENCE: EDUCATION COLLECTION Select an education title to search within the text or browse entries related to your subject area.
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: EDUCATION COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the education reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.
OXFORD RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIA: EDUCATION The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The content is regularly updated.

OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - CHILDHOOD STUDIES This link opens in a new window The scholarly study of children and young people is a relatively new multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed. From psychology to labor rights, from ethics to education, this source offers a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.

CQ RESEARCHER This link opens in a new window In-depth analysis of current and controversial social and political issues. Archived from 1991 to present. (CQ Press)
PROQUEST eLIBRARY This link opens in a new window This easy-to-use curriculum and reference resource delivers one of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content designed specifically for schools and libraries of all kinds, as well as additional subject-based material.
SIRS DISCOVERER This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offers articles, nonfiction books, images, activities, and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.
SIRS ISSUES RESEARCHER This link opens in a new window Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books. Titles include: Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies; Encyclopedia of Education; Encyclopedia of Education Law; Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology; Encyclopedia of Language and Education; Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education; and Psychology of Classroom Learning.
CREDO REFERENCE This link opens in a new window An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics. Titles include: Encyclopedia of Special Education; Gender and Education; Key Concepts in Education; and Philosophy of Education.
POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER This link opens in a new window Essays providing opposing perspectives and critical analysis on over 280 current issues. For each topic covered, there is an overview essay (objective background/description), point argument, counterpoint argument, and Critical Thinking Guide.

JSTOR DAILY "JSTOR Daily is an online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. Drawing on the richness of JSTOR’s digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals, thousands of monographs, and other materials, JSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world." Cited scholarly sources are linked and accessible to all users free of charge.