Provides biographies, work summaries, reviews and critical analyses for works of over 90,000 writers from all periods and literary disciplines. Content comes from Gale reference books, magazines, and scholarly journals. (GaleNet)
NOVELIST PLUSThis link opens in a new windowA readers' advisory tool that helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested. Over 96,000 book titles are in the database and range from easy readers to adult, with over 36,000 full text reviews. Search by keywords, subject, genre, age, and/or reading level.
BOOKS IN PRINT WITH REVIEWSThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of in print, out of print and forthcoming books, audio books and videos. Includes full-text reviews for many titles. (Bowker)
Children's Literature Journals
CHILDREN'S LITERATUREEncouraging serious scholarship and research, Children's Literature publishes theoretically-based articles that address key issues in the field. Each volume includes articles, essays, and book reviews. Children's Literature is the annual publication of the Children's Literature Association (ChLA) and the Modern Language Association Division on Children's Literature.
CHILDREN'S LITERATURE ASSOCIATION QUARTERLYChildren's Literature Association Quarterly publishes first-rate scholarship in children's literature studies. Each issue features an editorial introduction, juried articles about research and scholarship in children's literature, and book reviews. The Quarterly is available to members of the Children's Literature Association (ChLA) as a benefit of membership.
CHILDREN'S LITERATURE IN EDUCATIONChildren's Literature in Education has been a key source of articles on all aspects of children's literature for more than 50 years, featuring important interviews with writers and artists. It covers classic and contemporary material, the highbrow and the popular, and ranges across works for very young children through to young adults. It features analysis of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional material, plus studies in other media such as film, TV, computer games, online works; visual narratives from picture books and comics to graphic novels; textual analysis and interpretation from differing theoretical perspectives; historical approaches to the area; reader-response work with children; ideas for teaching children's literature; adaptation, translation and publishing.
JOURNAL OF CHILDREN'S LITERATUREThe Journal of Children's Literature is a refereed journal devoted to teaching and scholarship for the field of children's literature. It is the product of the Children's Literature Assembly of NCTE and is published twice annually.
SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNALThe most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries.
BOOK LIST WEBSITES
ALSC AWARDS AND CHILDREN'S NOTABLESInformation about the various children's literature awards and award winners from the section of the American Library Association that issues the Caldecott and Newbery Awards. Also provides information about children's notables in all types of media. (Association for Library Service to Children)
YALSA BOOKLISTS AND BOOK AWARDSLists include Best Books for Young Adults; Outstanding Books for the College Bound; Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers; and Teens Top Ten. (From the American Library Association, Young Adult Library Services Association)