Resources By Department: Fast Facts: Films

FILMS

ALL-MOVIE GUIDE Comprehensive, from silent to forthcoming, search by film, person or keyword. Critical and reference information on films and performers, primarily American. Plot summaries, complete credits and awards. 20,000+ biographies.
AMERICAN MOVIE CLASSICS "Great movies. And the stories behind them." A searchable site, includes a database of over 2,000 classic American films with links to related resources.
AMERICAN RHETORIC: THE POWER OF ORATORY IN THE UNITED STATES Provides online access to over 5,000 speeches, either through text or audio files. (Michael Eidenmuller)
BLACK FILM CENTER Links to web sites for black cinema. (Indiana University, Dept. of Afro-American Studies)
CINEMA: HOW ARE HOLLYWOOD FILMS MADE? An online exhibit exploring the process of filmmaking, from screenwriter to the final cut. Includes excellent links to related sites. (Annenberg/CPB Project)

FILMS ON DEMAND This link opens in a new window Films On Demand provides high-quality video and multimedia for academic, vocational and life-skills content.

GREATEST FILMS Specializing in classic Hollywood/American films. Provides interpretation, commentary, history, and reviews. (Tim Dirks)
INTERNET MOVIE DATABASE Up-to-date movie information, provides data on 130,000+ films. Information on films is wide ranging. Searchable.
JOURNALISM.ORG The online home of Project for Excellence in Journalism, with research, resources, and ideas to improve journalism. Affiliated with the School of Journalism, Columbia University.
PEW RESEARCH CENTER FOR THE PEOPLE AND THE PRESS Site of the opinion research group that studies public attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues. Includes survey reports, poll analysis, an archive, and links to related sites. (Pew Charitable Trusts)
SNAGFILMS Free documentary films.