Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Liston B. Ramsey Collection, 1976-2000

Container List

Series 1:  Correspondence, 1976-2000--This series includes business and personal correspondence between Liston B. Ramsey and fellow government officials, supporters, and constituents, as well as invitations, cards, and guest lists for official functions that Ramsey attended.

Box 1:

  • Folder 1: 1976
  • Folder 2: 1977
  • Folder 3: 1978
  • Folder 4: 1979
  • Folder 5: 1980
  • Folder 6: January-March, 1981
  • Folder 7: April-June, 1981
  • Folder 8: July-September, 1981
  • Folder 9: October-December, 1981

Box 2:

  • Folder 10: January-May, 1982
  • Folder 11: June-August, 1982
  • Folder 12: September-December, 1982
  • Folder 13: January-March, 1983
  • Folder 14: April-June, 1983
  • Folder 15: July-September, 1983
  • Folder 16: October-December, 1983

Box 3:

  • Folder 17: January-February, 1984
  • Folder 18: March-June, 1984
  • Folder 19: July-August, 1984
  • Folder 20: September-December, 1984
  • Folder 21: January-February, 1985
  • Folder 22: March-April, 1985
  • Folder 23: May-June, 1985
  • Folder 24: July-September, 1985
  • Folder 25: October-December, 1985

Box 4:

  • Folder 26: January-February, 1986
  • Folder 27: March-May, 1986
  • Folder 28: June-July, 1986
  • Folder 29: August-October, 1986
  • Folder 30: November-December, 1986
  • Folder 31: January-March, 1987
  • Folder 32: April-June, 1987

Box 5:

  • Folder 33: July-August, 1987
  • Folder 34: September-October, 1987
  • Folder 35: November-December, 1987
  • Folder 36: January-February, 1988
  • Folder 37: March-April, 1988
  • Folder 38: May-July, 1988
  • Folder 39: August-December, 1988
  • Folder 40: January- March, 1989
  • Folder 41: April-December, 1989

Box 6:

  • Folder 42: 1990
  • Folder 43: 1991
  • Folder 44: 1992
  • Folder 45: January-March, 1993
  • Folder 46: April-June, 1993
  • Folder 47: July-December, 1993

Box 7:

  • Folder 48: January-March, 1994
  • Folder 49: April-July, 1994
  • Folder 50: August-December, 1994
  • Folder 51: January-March, 1995
  • Folder 52: April-August, 1995
  • Folder 53: September-December, 1995
  • Folder 54: January-April, 1996
  • Folder 55: May-June, 1996
  • Folder 56: July-December, 1996

Box 8:

  • Folder 57: January-March, 1997
  • Folder 58: April-May, 1997
  • Folder 59: June-July, 1997
  • Folder 60: August-December, 1997
  • Folder 61: January-June, 1998
  • Folder 62: July-December, 1998
  • Folder 63: 1999
  • Folder 64: 2000
  • Folder 65: Undated

Box 9:

  • Folder 66: Letters to Democratic Nominees on Speakership, 1980 
  • Folder 67: Correspondence related to North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources Grants, 1997-January, 1998
  • Folder 68: Correspondence related to North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources Grants, January, 1998
  • Folder 69: Correspondence referring to Redistricting Issue, 1981-1984
  • Folder 70: Correspondence related to the nomination of Lacy Thornburg for the North Carolina Supreme Court, July 1982
  • Folder 71: Correspondence and information related to the 11th Congressional District, 1978, 1980-1982
  • Folder 72: Correspondence related to the North Carolina House of Representatives Page Program
  • Folder 73: Information regarding UNC Board of Governors, 1975-1999
  • Folder 74: Information regarding Haywood County Schools, 1979-1980
  • Folder 75: Correspondence about the 1982 Equal Rights Amendment

Box 10:

  • Folder 76: Correspondence about the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program, 1986-1987
  • Folder 77: Correspondence about the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Program, 1988-1999
  • Folder 78: Correspondence regarding 1985 Liston B. Ramsey Reception
  • Folder 79: Correspondence related to North Carolina/South Carolina House Basketball Game, 1980-1988.
  • Folder 80: Correspondence related to Moore Hall/Western Carolina University

Series 2: Correspondence with North Carolina Governors, 1975-1999--This series includes correspondence between Liston B. Ramsey and the acting Governors of North Carolina during the years Ramsey was in office. This series includes correspondence from Governor Jim Hunt and Governor James Martin.

  • Folder 81: Correspondence with Governor Hunt, 1975-1989
  • Folder 82: Correspondence pertaining to Governor Hunt’s Road Proposal, 1981
  • Folder 83: Correspondence with Governor Martin, 1981-1986
  • Folder 84: Correspondence with Governor Martin, 1987-1988
  • Folder 85: Correspondence with Governor Hunt, 1990-1999

Series 3: Liston B. Ramsey Speeches, 1979-1998--This series includes loose copies of speeches, notes, outlines of speeches, and reference materials for speeches. These speeches range from different times of Ramsey’s career, with the bulk being from his time serving as Speaker of the House for the North Carolina General Assembly. Ramsey’s speeches include comments made in the General Assembly, at honorary events and functions, and political campaign stops.

Box 11:

  • Folder 86: 1979
  • Folder 87: 1980
  • Folder 88: January-March 1981
  • Folder 89: April-December 1981
  • Folder 90: January-May 1982
  • Folder 91: June-December 1982
  • Folder 92: January-May 1983
  • Folder 93: June-December 1983
  • Folder 94: January-September 1984
  • Folder 95: October-December 1984

Box 12:

  • Folder 96: January-July 1985
  • Folder 97: August-December 1985
  • Folder 98: January-March 1986
  • Folder 99: April 1986
  • Folder 100: May-September 1986
  • Folder 101: October-December 1986
  • Folder 102: January-April 1987
  • Folder 103: May-December 1987
  • Folder 104: 1988
  • Folder 105: 1989

Box 13:

  • Folder 106: 1990-1991
  • Folder 107: 1992-1998

Series 4: Legislation Introduced by Liston B. Ramsey, 1977-2000--This series includes copies of legislation introduced by Ramsey during his time in the North Carolina House of Representatives. This legislation includes laws designed to help his congressional district, laws designed to help western North Carolina, and laws designed to better the entire state.

  • Folder 108: 1977, 1989
  • Folder 109: 1991-1992
  • Folder 110: 1993-1994
  • Folder 111: 1994-1995
  • Folder 112: 1997
  • Folder 113: 1998-2000

Box 14:

  • Folder 114: Honorary Resolutions introduced by Ramsey, undated 

Series 5: Press Releases, 1980-2000--This series includes copies of press releases sent from Ramsey’s office to local and state publications including during his time as Speaker of the House.

  • Folder 115: 1980-July 1981
  • Folder 116: August-October 1981
  • Folder 117: November-December 1981
  • Folder 118: 1982
  • Folder 119: 1983, 1985-1989

Series 6: Newspaper and Magazine Articles Related to Liston B. Ramsey, 1978-2000--This series includes articles from local and state newspapers and magazines that discuss Ramsey or issues related to Ramsey’s work in the House of Representatives; also includes magazines that placed Ramsey on the cover of the issue.

  • Folder 120: 1996, 1998-2000

Box 15:

  • Folder 121: 1973-1985
  • Folder 122: 1986, 1987, 1989
  • Folder 123: 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999
  • Folder 124: 2000
  • Folder 125: Undated
  • Folder 126: We the People of North Carolina magazine, February 1981

Series 7:  Liston B. Ramsey Campaign Finance Reports, 1974-2000--This series includes financial records related to Liston B. Ramsey campaigns for office.

  • Folder 127: 1974-1979
  • Folder 128: 1980-1982

Box 16:

  • Folder 129: 1984-1987
  • Folder 130: 1988-1990
  • Folder 131: 1992-1994
  • Folder 132: 1995-1997
  • Folder 133: 1998
  • Folder 134: 1999-2000

Series 8: Government Operations Information, 1981-1984--This series has correspondence regarding personnel needs for North Carolina courts, funding for historic preservation projects, proposed changes to laws on a range of subjects, and other matters addressed by the Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations.

  • Folder 135: 1981-1984

Box 17:

  • Folder 136: 1985-1986
  • Folder 137: 1987-1988

Series 9: Event Programs, 1969-1999--This series includes programs from events that Ramsey attended, including some where he was the speaker or individual being honored.

  • Folder 138: 1969, 1979-1985
  • Folder 139: 1986-1990
  • Folder 140: 1993-1999, undated

Series 10: Miscellaneous Materials--This series includes items collected by Ramsey during his time in office including political cartoons depicting Ramsey at the height of his power, novelty political items, and an official written document from the Speaker of the House office commissioned by Ramsey during his tenure as Speaker.

  • Folder 141: Political Cartoons Depicting Liston Ramsey
  • Folder 142: North Carolina Democratic Party People: A Calendar for 1986
  • Folder 143: Powers of the Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives, commissioned by Liston Ramsey
  • Folder 144: Guest book from “Liston Ramsey Appreciation Day,  August 17, 1994"

Series 11: North Carolina State Legislature Printed Materials, 1981-2000-- This series includes printed material from the North Carolina Legislature saved by Ramsey and his staff from his time in office.

Box 18:

  • Folder 145: North Carolina Legislative Directory, 1981-2000
  • Folder 146: North Carolina Capital Guide, 1991-1992, 1995-2000
  • Folder 147: North Carolina General Assembly House of Representatives Rules-Directory, 1981, 1985, 1987, 1999
  • Folder 148: Prayers Offered in the North Carolina House of Representatives, 1987-1988
  • Folder 149: N.C. Almanac of Government and Politics, 1995-1996
  • Folder 150: 2000 Directory of State and County officials of North Carolina

Series 12: Scrapbooks--This series includes scrapbooks of letters of support and admiration sent to Ramsey by friends, colleagues, and constituents. Also includes scrapbook featuring items from when Ramsey was awarded an honorary doctorate by Mars Hill College.

Box 19:

  • Folder 151: Bound notebook of personal correspondence labeled “Thank You! August 15, 1988"
  • Folder 152: Bound notebook of personal correspondence labeled “The Honorable Liston B. Ramsey: Legislator for Life”

Series 13: Photographs--This series includes photographs and photo albums of various political, social, business, and travel activities, and personal moments involving Representative and Mrs. Ramsey, their family, and other state officials and prominent individuals.

Box 20:

  • Folder 153: Personal Photographs, 01-4-1a to 01-4-12
  • Folder 154: Portraits, 01-4-13 to 01-4-25
  • Folder 155: Photographs of Political Events and Speaking Events, 01-4-26 to 01-4-54
  • Folder 156: Photographs of Political Events and Speaking Events, 01-4-55 to 01-4-111
  • Folder 157: Photographs of Political Events and Speaking Events, 01-4-112 to 01-4-137 (01-4-122 removed from folder)
  • Folder 158: Vance Aycock Dinner Honoring Liston B. Ramsey, October 9, 1999 Photo Album, 01-4-138 to 01-4-166
  • Folder 159: Miscellaneous Photographs, 01-4-167 to 01-4-168

Series 14: Awards--This series includes certificates, plaques, honorary resolutions, and other awards given to Liston B. Ramsey both during and after his political career by a variety of individuals and organizations.

  • Folder 160: Certificate of Election, 1980-1998
  • Folder 161: Certificates recognizing Liston B. Ramsey, 1973-2000, undated

Oversized Folder 1:

  • French Broad Electric Membership Corporation Resolution in Appreciation to Florence M. Ramsey
  • A Resolution by the Governing Body of Waynesville Expressing Appreciation to the Honorable Liston B. Ramsey
  • The North Carolina Fisheries Association, Inc. presents this Certificate of Appreciation to Liston B. Ramsey
  • “I Was There” WCU vs. NC State, December 6, 1986 Dedication of the Ramsey Activity Center
  • Winston-Salem Journal article signed by Bill Watkins to Liston B. Ramsey
  • Appreciation Award presented to Liston Ramsey for his Support, Dedication, and Commitment to the N.C. International Folk Festival Folkmoot USA, October 1995
  • Resolution By the Board of Trustees of Tri-County Community College
  • Resolution of Appreciation for Liston B. Ramsey from State Employees Association of North Carolina (SEANC), February 19, 2000
  • A Resolution by the Governing Body of Waynesville Expressing Appreciation to the Honorable Liston B. Ramsey, June 8, 1982
  • Presented to Representative Liston Ramsey, in deep appreciation for your service to and support of Southwestern Community College, December 1997
  • Resolution by the Board of Trustees of Tri-County Community College, September 25, 1997
  • French Broad Electric Membership Corporation Resolution in Appreciation to Florence M. Ramsey, April 17 1999
  • The North Carolina Fisheries Association, Inc. presents this certificate of appreciation to Liston B. Ramsey for service and loyalty to the fishing industry of North Carolina, December 13, 1986.
  • Cherokee Historical Association: A Resolution Honoring the Service of the Honorable Liston B. Ramsey to the Cherokee Historical Association, November 14, 1985.