Topic Overviews

BIOLOGY TOPIC OVERVIEW RESOURCES

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF LIFE SCIENCES Authoritative encyclopedia on the biological sciences. With over 3,000 signed entries, has the complete text of the 20 volume 2001 print edition. Illustrations, bibliographic references, cross-references, glossary. Updated monthly. (Nature Publishing)

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the science reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: ENVIRONMENT COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the environmental science and issues reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.
OXFORD RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIA: ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The content is regularly updated.
NATURESERVE Scientific information about 50,000 rare and endangered plants and animals in the United States and Canada. Information provided includes common and scientific name, taxonomic hierarchy, distribution within the US and Canada with distribution maps, conservation status, life history and habitat information, and significant references. Searchable by any one or combination of several elements. (Assoc. of Biodiversity Information)
U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY Information about programs and activities in each of the states, current projects, publications, and research. Fact sheets, information of interest to children. Provides a site search engine.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: HEALTH, MEDICINE AND NURSING COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the medical and nursing reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.
MEDLINEPLUS Full-text information on hundreds of medical issues. Links to: dictionaries, encyclopedias, and databases; directories of professionals, hospitals, and organizations; and libraries for health consumers, organized by state. (National Library of Medicine)
NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH "NIH's mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce the burdens of illness and disability."
CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION Provides information on many health and safety topics for the layperson, medical professionals and researchers. From "the lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people" in the U.S. Browse or search.

OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - PUBLIC HEALTH This resource lists key publications in public health, including public policy, non-communicable diseases, infectious diseases, social determinants of disease, and key issues of poverty, equity, and social justice. It draws on multiple disciplines for theoretical understanding, measurement methods, and empirical evidence.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Includes Animal Sciences, Biology, Developmental Biology, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Science, Genetics, Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia: Evolution, Infectious Diseases, and Plant Sciences.
CREDO REFERENCE An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.

JSTOR DAILY "JSTOR Daily is an online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. Drawing on the richness of JSTOR’s digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals, thousands of monographs, and other materials, JSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world." Cited scholarly sources are linked and accessible to all users free of charge.

PROQUEST U.S. NEWSSTREAM This database provides assess to U.S. national and regional newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format, including exclusive and preferred access to The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. Coverage varies by title, but may extend back as far as the 1980's.
PROQUEST INTERNATIONAL NEWSSTREAM This database provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.
NEWSPAPER SOURCE PLUS Provides more than 1,200 full-text newspapers, news from 160 newswires, and nearly 2 million television and radio news transcripts. More than 83 million full-text articles.

BAILEY MOUNTAIN PRESERVE RESOURCE GUIDE After exploring this page you will understand how a coalition of local and regional groups worked together to conserve the slopes and summit of Bailey Mountain in Madison County, NC.