Skip to Main Content 
MAJOR EBOOK DATABASES
EBOOK CENTRAL This link opens in a new window
Scholarly titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction.
EBSCO E-BOOKS This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 65,000 electronic books, including recent reference, scholarly and professional titles. Click here for detailed directions on how to download e-books to your personal computer. All titles are included in the MHU catalog, but going directly to the ebook collection allows you to search the full text of the book.
JSTOR EBOOKS This link opens in a new window
In addition to scholarly articles, JSTOR now includes e-books in the arts, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences, published by university and other academic presses. To limit your search to books, click on Advanced Search and then check only Books under Item Type.
MORE EBOOK DATABASES
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats.
SALEM PRESS This link opens in a new window ABC-CLIO E-BOOK COLLECTION This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of over 3,400 electronic books covering a wide range of subject areas.
EARLY AMERICAN IMPRINTS SERIES I: EVANS, 1639-1800 This link opens in a new window
Digital editions of "virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over 160 year period." Subjects include government, history, economics and trade, literature, philosophy, religion, theology, science, society. (Readex)
HOME GROWN E-BOOK COLLECTION This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
OPEN LIBRARY This link opens in a new window
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
MOUNTAIN PEOPLE: LIFE AND CULTURE IN APPALACHIA This link opens in a new window
Diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers... accounts on the development of farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore.
LAUREL YEARBOOKS
The Ramsey Center collaborated with Digital NC to digitize Mars Hill yearbooks spanning from 1917-2011. Check out old friends, retro styles, and see what your professors looked like when they were students!
LUNSFORD SCRAPBOOK
Bascom Lamar Lunsford was a musician and folklorist who dedicated his life to collecting and promoting the music of the Southern Appalachians. Through his work he became known as "Minstrel of the Appalachians." This digitized version of his scrapbook is a collaborative project with the Liston B. Ramsey Center and Digital NC. The materials in this collection are made available for use in research, teaching, and private study.
STANDARD EBOOKS
collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks
