Resources By Department: Modern Foreign Languages: Topic Overviews

Topic Overviews

OXFORD RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIA: LINGUISTICS The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The content is regularly updated.
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: LITERARY STUDIES COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the literary studies reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.

LITERATURE RESOURCE CENTER This link opens in a new window
Provides biographies, summaries, reviews, interviews and critical analyses for nearly 100,000 writers from all geographical areas, time periods and literary disciplines. (GaleNet)

COUNTRYWATCH This link opens in a new window Geographical, political, economic, historical, cultural and business information on 191 nations. Click on CountryReviews near the top left and then select a country from the drop down menu. Once on the homepage for the country, scroll down the left sidebar menu to Economic Overview to access a narrative description of the country's economic conditions as well as a variety of data sets.
GLOBAL ROAD WARRIOR This link opens in a new window Country-by-country information on 175 nations and territories featuring editorial content, color photos and 1,575 maps, all presented in a consistent 92-category framework for each country.
STATESMAN'S YEARBOOK ONLINE This link opens in a new window Up-to-date information on global affairs with comprehensive coverage of government and politics, geography, history, economics, social policy and culture for 192 countries.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Titles include Arts and Humanities through the Eras, Countries and their Cultures, Encyclopedia of Food and Culture, Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture , Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats.
CREDO REFERENCE This link opens in a new window An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.