Resources By Department: Religion and Philosophy: Topic Overviews

RELIGION TOPIC OVERVIEW RESOURCES

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: RELIGION COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the religion reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.
ENCYCLOPEDIA OF RELIGION AND SOCIETY Signed articles on a wide variety of religious concepts from a sociological and anthropological perspective. Articles include bibliographies. Electronic version of Altamira Press publication, edited by William H. Swatos, Jr.(Hartford Institute for Religion Research, Hartford Seminary)
OXFORD COMAPNION TO THE BIBLE

INTERNET ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PHILOSOPHY (IEP) Presents information related to philosophy. Offers access to articles and text, arranged in alphabetical order by author. Contains a timeline of philosophy. Provides definitions and descriptions of key philosophical ideas and words. Includes a site search engine. (James Fieser, Ph.D, general editor)
STANFORD ENCYCLOPEDIA OF PHILOSOPHY "Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives.”

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books; search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Titles include: Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, Encyclopedia of Philosophy, African American Religious Cultures, Contemporary American Religion, Creation Myths of the World: An Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia Judaica, Encyclopedia of Buddhism, Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World, Encyclopedia of Religion, and Encyclopedia of Religion in America.
OXFORD REFERENCE ONLINE This link opens in a new window
Complete contents of more than 40 titles published by Oxford University Press, including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books. Subject areas include Art, History, English, Religion, Philosophy, and Performing Arts.

JSTOR DAILY "JSTOR Daily is an online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. Drawing on the richness of JSTOR’s digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals, thousands of monographs, and other materials, JSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world." Cited scholarly sources are linked and accessible to all users free of charge.

CREDO REFERENCE This link opens in a new window An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.