Resources By Department: Social Work: Topic Overviews

Topic Overviews

ENCYCLOPEDIA OF SOCIAL WORK This link opens in a new window An online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). This resource provides overviews on key social work concepts, and is updated on a monthly basis.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: SOCIOLOGY AND SOCIAL WORK COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the sociology and social work reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.

POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER This link opens in a new window Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books. Search or browse the collection or an individual title. Full text documents are available in HTML or PDF formats. Includes Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice; Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior; Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics; Encyclopedia of Social Problems; Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America; Encyclopedia of Sociology; and Poverty in America.
CREDO REFERENCE This link opens in a new window An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics, such as art, business, literature, and science. With a network of cross-references that provide an easy-to-follow trail to related information contained anywhere in Credo Reference, it provides trustworthy answers—and new connections—in context.

JSTOR DAILY "JSTOR Daily is an online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. Drawing on the richness of JSTOR’s digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals, thousands of monographs, and other materials, JSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world." Cited scholarly sources are linked and accessible to all users free of charge.

CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE REPORTS The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works exclusively for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990. (University of North Texas)
CONGRESS.GOV Search full text of bills from the 93rd Congress (1973) through the current session. Search legislation by bill number or keyword, or browse by bill type. This site also provides access to Senate and House calendars, committee information and roll call votes, as well as searchable full text of the Congressional record. (Library of Congress)

JORDAN INSTITUTE The Jordan Institute is affiliated with the UNC School of Social Work and provides information on programs for families and children in North Carolina. Some program pages include links to publications and program evaluations.
WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA REGIONAL OUTLOOK REPORT "This report provides a comprehensive overview of Western North Carolina’s (WNC) major demographic, economic, social, and political issues and trends. It is intended to help decision-makers and residents make informed choices about the region based on analysis of up-to-date data in a variety of forms. ... The data in this report are taken from three sources: (1) existing federal and state data, (2) aggregate county and regional data, and (3) a public opinion poll of randomly selected respondents in the state’s twenty-three westernmost counties."