Resources By Department: Criminal Justice: Topic Overviews

Topic Overviews

CREDO CRIMINOLOGY
GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY: CRIMINAL JUSTICE COLLECTION Browse tables of contents or search within the criminal justice reference books in Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search box to the right to search within these titles only.
OXFORD RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIA: CRIMINOLOGY AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE The Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. The content is regularly updated.
NATIONAL CRIMINAL JUSTICE REFERENCE SERVICE Searchable database, with information on corrections, courts, crime prevention, international law, juvenile justice, and law enforcement; information on drugs and crime, crime victims, and criminal justice statistics.
NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF JUSTICE NIJ provides objective and independent knowledge and tools to reduce crime and promote justice, particularly at the state and local levels.

OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES - CRIMINOLOGY This link opens in a new window As a discipline which examines crime as a social phenomenon, criminology is a constantly changing and expanding field. Oxford Bibliographies in Criminology is a much-needed online guide to the essential literature across the various subfields of criminology.

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY This link opens in a new window Access to the full text of over 200 authoritative electronic reference books. Includes; Crime and Punishment; Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice; Encyclopedia of Criminal Justice Ethics; Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory; and Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities.
CREDO REFERENCE This link opens in a new window An online collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other ready-reference books covering a range of topics. Includes: Dictionary of Policing; Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment; Dictionary of Offender Management; Dictionary of Youth Justice; and Essential Criminology.
POINTS OF VIEW REFERENCE CENTER This link opens in a new window Essays providing opposing perspectives and critical analysis on over 280 current issues. For each topic covered, there is an overview essay (objective background/description), point argument, counterpoint argument, and Critical Thinking Guide.

JSTOR DAILY "JSTOR Daily is an online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. Drawing on the richness of JSTOR’s digital library of more than 2,000 academic journals, thousands of monographs, and other materials, JSTOR Daily stories provide background—historical, scientific, literary, political, and otherwise—for understanding today’s often-confusing world." Cited scholarly sources are linked and accessible to all users free of charge.