AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETYThis link opens in a new windowThe American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. This index allows for in-depth searching and article requests may be submitted through inter-library loan. NOTE: LINKS TO FULL TEXT MOSTLY TAKE YOU TO VENDORS WHO CHARGE A FEE. DO NOT PAY FOR ARTICLES. YOU CAN REQUEST THEM ON INTERLIBRARY LOAN.
American Chemical Society Publications
Covers all journals published by the ACS – mostly citations/abstracts, with some full text
Enter your search in the search box
Put quotation marks around phrases with 2+ words
Type AND between words or phrases if you want both to appear in the abstract
Use an asterisk (*) after the root of the word to get various endings
“Octyl methoxycinnamate” AND sun*
Conduct the search, then choose Journal Article from the Content Type menu
Our subscriptions: Analytical Chemistry; Environmental Science & Technology; Journal of Agricultural & Food Chemistry; Journal of the ACS; Journal of Physical Chemistry A, B, C
Request other articles of interest via interlibrary loan by emailing ill@mhu.eduDO NOT PAY FOR ARTICLES!!
SCIENCE ARTICLE DATABASES
PROQUEST SCIENCE DATABASEThis link opens in a new windowApplied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
AGRICULTURAL AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE DATABASEThis link opens in a new windowArticles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics.
SCIENCEDIRECTOver 400 titles covering a comprehensive range of subjects.
MULTIDISCIPLINARY ARTICLE DATABASES
ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIERThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. Coverage varies by title with some titles going back to 1975. (Ebsco)
ACADEMIC ONE FILEThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for articles in over 10,000 publications, both scholarly and popular. Full text or page images of articles are available from over 5,300 of these publications. Coverage varies by title with some titles going back to the early 1980’s. (Gale)
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences. Goes back to the first issue of every journal title, included but does not provide the most current 3-5 years worth of articles. Searching is by keyword, as no indexing is available.
PROQUEST CENTRALThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.
GREENFILEThis link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
