** THE FOLLOWING LINKS PROVIDE ACCESS TO PRIMARY SOURCES WE HAVE FOUND USEFUL. PLEASE NOTE THEY MAY NOT CONTAIN ONLY PRIMARY SOURCES, AND PRIMARY SOURCES MAY ALSO BE FOUND IN PLACES THROUGHOUT THIS DEPARTMENT PAGE.**
North Carolina and Regional Resources
NORTH CAROLINA DIGITAL COLLECTIONSThe North Carolina Digital Collections contain over 90,000 historic and recent photographs, state government publications, manuscripts, and other resources on topics related to North Carolina. The Collections are free and full-text searchable, and bring together content from the State Archives of North Carolina and the State Library of North Carolina.
DOCUMENTING THE AMERICAN SOUTHPrimary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. Includes collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (UNC Chapel Hill University Library)
DIGITAL LIBRARY OF APPALACHIAResources related to the culture, environment, history and geography of the southern and central Appalachian region. Full text and media resources from the collections of the 33 member institutions of the ACA.(Central Library, Appalachia College Association)
United States
ACCESSIBLE ARCHIVESDeveloped by dedicated instructors and students of American history, Accessible Archives databases contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.
DIGITAL PUBLIC LIBRARY OF AMERICAThe Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
DOCUMENTS FOR THE STUDY OF AMERICAN HISTORYA collection of links to primary documents in American history from the arrival of Christopher Columbus to the current presidency. (George Laughead Jr., manager, WWW Virtual Library, United States History)
MAKING OF AMERICAPrimary source materials on American social history, from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction. (Univ. of Michigan)
NATIONAL ARCHIVESThe National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Find online documents and information about materials preserved at the archives. Also hosts Presidential Libraries.
Image Databases
ARTSTORThis link opens in a new windowDigital library of art images and associated information. Prehistoric to contemporary, international in scope, includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts and design. To use, enable Java scripts, disable pop-up blockers.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS: PRINTS AND PHOTOGRAPHSThe Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Library of Congress.
NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY DIGITAL GALLERY ONLINEA searchable collection of over 30,000 digitized images from the collection of the New York Public Library. Images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Particularly useful for research in fashion and history.
International
AVALON PROJECTSearchable, digitized collection of primary documents in law, history, and diplomacy, from the Code of Hammurabi to the Wye River Memorandums. (Yale Univ.)
BRITISH LIBRARYAccess to virtual books, online exhibitions, tours, and personal galleries.
WORLD DIGITAL LIBRARYLinks to significant primary materials made available on the Internet from countries and cultures around the world.
HISTORY STUDY CENTERThis link opens in a new windowHistory Study Center covers global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics.
History Study Center provides over 40,000 documents and articles, with over 50 reference works, 3,000 images and links to 2,000 Web sites.
