Resources By Department: History: Civil War and Reconstruction Periods

CIVIL WAR AND RECONSTRUCTION PERIODS - REFERENCE BOOKS

DICTIONARY OF AMERICAN HISTORY (Gale Virtual Refernce Library)
HISTORICAL DICTIONARY OF THE CIVIL WAR (Gale Virtual Reference Library)

CIVIL WAR AND RECONSTRUCTION PERIODS - DIGITAL ARCHIVAL MATERIAL

AMERICAN CIVIL WAR: LETTERS AND DIARIES This link opens in a new window A searchable collection of over 100,000 pages of diaries and correspondence written in the period around the American Civil War. (Alexander Street Press)

CIVIL WAR WOMEN On-line archival collections featuring scanned pages and texts of the writings of a few women during the American Civil War.
DIGITAL LIBRARY ON AMERICAN SLAVERY
DIGITAL PUBLIC LIBRARY OF AMERICA The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
DOCUMENTING THE AMERICAN SOUTH Primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. Includes collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (UNC Chapel Hill University Library)
DOCUMENTS FOR THE STUDY OF AMERICAN HISTORY A collection of links to primary documents in American history from the arrival of Christopher Columbus to the current presidency. (George Laughead Jr., manager, WWW Virtual Library, United States History)
HARP WEEK An online index of Harper's Weekly published from 1857 - 1912.
MAKING OF AMERICA Primary source materials on American social history, from the Antebellum period through Reconstruction. (Univ. of Michigan)
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS DIGITAL COLLECTIONS Gateway to digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books.
MAKING OF AMERICA: CIVIL WAR DOCUMENTS Thematically-related digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, containing109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 – 1900.” Includes official records of the Union and Confederate Navies and The War of the Rebellion. (Cornell University)
NATIONAL ARCHIVES The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Find online documents and information about materials preserved at the archives. Also hosts Presidential Libraries.
NINETEENTH CENTURY DOCUMENTS PROJECT Primary texts from 19th century American history from the Avalon Project.

SABIN AMERICANA This link opens in a new window
This collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, and military actions.

SOUTHERN HOME FRONT Presents materials related to Southern life during the Civil War and the challenge of creating a nation state while waging war. This collection includes government documents, personal diaries, religious pamphlets, and many other materials.

CIVIL WAR AND RECONSTRUCTION PERIODS - DIGITAL NEWSPAPERS

CHRONICLING AMERICA: HISTORIC NEWSPAPERS Chronicling America covers local newspapers from across the United States from 1789-1925 (exact coverage varies by title).

HISTORICAL NEW YORK TIMES This link opens in a new window
The Historical New York Times provides searchable full text, full page, and article-level images. Indexing is provided. Goes back to the first issue, but does not provide the most current 3 years worth of articles.

NORTH CAROLINA NEWSPAPER DIGITIZATION PROJECT Historic North Carolina newspapers dating from 1752-1890s. Compiled by the State Archives of North Carolina.

History

CIVIL WAR AND RECONSTRUCTION PERIODS - REFERENCE BOOKS

CIVIL WAR AND RECONSTRUCTION PERIODS - DIGITAL ARCHIVAL MATERIAL

CIVIL WAR AND RECONSTRUCTION PERIODS - DIGITAL NEWSPAPERS

Renfro Library Home | MHU Home