Resources By Department: History: Women's History

WOMEN'S HISTORY - REFERENCE BOOKS

AMERICAN WOMEN "A gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the United States." (Library of Congress)
AMERICAN WOMEN'S HISTORY: DIGITAL COLLECTIONS OF PRIMARY SOURCES Links to digitized collections, arranged into more than 70 subject areas, as well as links to 50 state history collections. Subjects include American Indians, civil rights, clothing, education, film, immigrant women, music, politics, religion, scientists, sports and writers. (Ken Middleton, Middle Tennessee State University Library
BY POPULAR DEMAND: VOTES FOR WOMEN'S SUFFRAGE 1850-1920 Portraits, photographs and cartoons commenting on the suffrage movement. Includes a timeline. These images are a companion to "Votes for Women: Selections from the American Woman's Suffrage Movement" (see below). (Library of Congress, American Memory Project)
DIGITAL PUBLIC LIBRARY OF AMERICA The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS DIGITAL COLLECTIONS Gateway to digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books.
NATIONAL WOMEN'S HISTORY PROJECT Links to US women’s history web sites, contact information for women’s history organizations.

NORTH AMERICAN WOMEN'S LETTERS AND DIARIES This link opens in a new window A searchable collection of the full text of over 150,000 pages from American and Canadian women's diaries and correspondence. From the Colonial period to the 1950's, representing the famous and unknown, all age groups, life stages and ethnicities. (Alexander Street Press via NCLive)

VOTES FOR WOMEN Digitized collection of 167 books, pamphlets, and other artifacts in the collection of the Library of Congress.