NORTH CAROLINA HISTORY - DIGITAL ARCHIVAL MATERIALS
DIGITAL NC
Original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state of North Carolina.
DIGITAL PUBLIC LIBRARY OF AMERICA
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used.
DOCUMENTING THE AMERICAN SOUTH
Primary resources for the study of southern history, literature, and culture. Includes collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs." (UNC Chapel Hill University Library)
NORTH CAROLINA DIRECTORIES ONLINE
Search and browse more than 300 directories from cities and towns across North Carolina from the 1860s to the 1930s.
NORTH CAROLINA MAPS
Online collections of historic maps featuring maps from three of the state's largest map collections: the North Carolina State Archives, the North Carolina Collection at UNC-Chapel Hill, and the Outer Banks History Center. Contains more than 3,000 maps, ranging in date from the late 1500s to 2000, and covering each county.
NORTH CAROLINA VITAL RECORDS
Website for ordering copies of birth certificates (1913-present), death certificates (1930-present), marriage certificates (1962-present), and divorce certificates (1958-present).
SOUTHERN HOME FRONT
Presents materials related to Southern life during the Civil War and the challenge of creating a nation state while waging war. This collection includes government documents, personal diaries, religious pamphlets, and many other materials.
STATE DATA CENTER
Information and data about NC and its component geographical areas. (North Carolina Office of State Planning)
NORTH CAROLINA - WEBPAGES FOR STATE LIBRARY AND ARCHIVES
NORTH CAROLINA DIVISION OF ARCHIVES AND HISTORY
“The mission of the North Carolina Office of Archives and History is to collect, preserve, and utilize the state's historic resources so that present and future residents may better understand their history.”
